England’s appeal upheld but too late to save Trott

NOTTINGHAM: England have received apologies from the International Cricket Council and the inventor of Hot Spot over the contentious umpiring decision that they claim robbed them of Jonathan Trott’s wicket in the first Ashes Test.
杭州桑拿

Trott was judged lbw to Mitchell Starc by TV umpire Marais Erasmus during a critical patch of play before tea on day two at Trent Bridge. The original decision, from on-field umpire Aleem Dar, was not out but the Australians asked for a review under the Decision Review System.

Fast bowler James Anderson said Trott was adamant he edged the ball onto his pad, and the decision was made despite there being no compelling evidence about a nick, and in the absence of a side-on angle from Hot Spot. It was reported on Friday that ICC chief executive Dave Richardson had apologised to his England and Wales Cricket Board chairman Giles Clarke, while London’s Daily Telegraph also quoted the inventor of infrared imaging system Hot Spot saying he regretted the episode. Warren Brennan said the Trott wicket was missed by the Hot Spot camera because the broadcaster, Sky, was replaying the dismissal of Joe Root a ball before at the same time. ”Here is the absolute truth from our perspective in regard to the Trott incident,” Brennan said.

”It was operator error. My operator did not trigger the system in order to cater for the Trott delivery. Instead the operator sat on the Root delivery in order to offer a replay from the previous ball, and did not realise until it was too late that he should have triggered the system for the Trott delivery as the priority. Simple mistake, something that anyone could have made but my Hot Spot operator has worked on the system since 2007, and to my knowledge this is the first serious mistake he has made.”

Anderson said: ”Trotty’s hit the ball, and he’s been given not out so it’s very frustrating. You have to ask the umpire about that. He was given not out on the field, and it was frustrating that it got overturned. I’m not sure what went on.”

Joe Root and Trott fell to Mitchell Starc in consecutive balls before tea, reducing the home team to 2-11 in the immediate aftermath of Ashton Agar’s astonishing last-wicket stand with Phillip Hughes to give Australia an unexpected first-innings lead.

The English were already frustrated that a fervent stumping had been turned down when Agar was on six. Had it been granted Australia would have been bowled out for 133. ”I thought it was out but I saw it on the big screen. It’s hard to tell sometimes,” Anderson said.

On day one Chris Rogers was judged lbw when he reviewed unsuccessfully. The umpire’s original decision was upheld because Hawk-Eye showed part of the ball clipping the stumps.

The original release of this article first appeared on the website of Hangzhou Night Net.